The Joys & Challenges of Exploring a New City on Feet

As someone that often travels for business, I really love the convenience of using taxi services to get me from point A to point B. Between all those client meetings and conferences, I'm very short on time to explore the new city, but somehow I still manage to squeeze a bit of leisure time. I always ask the hotel concierge to arrange a cab so that, at least, I can visit the main tourist attractions in that city. But things change when I travel solely for leisure. That is when I really want to take my time and explore the city at my own pace and on feet. For me, there is no better way to connect to the city and its people than by walking.


Whether it's the small cobblestone streets in an old city or busy high streets that I'm exploring on foot, when I walk I don't feel that much of a tourist that just came to peek in, but more like a local. It's totally different experience than just simply taking a cab or using public transportation. You might stumble upon hidden neighbourhoods off the beaten tourist paths, packed with interesting tiny galleries and restaurants where only locals go.

I truly believe that it's in our human nature to walk, being nomads and explore. The human body is an amazing and fascinating organism that has been designed to move and there are many that would agree with this. Travelling often means getting out of your normal every-day routine, and sometimes eating and drinking things that you normally wouldn't. That makes us feel sluggish, so moving is good for your body.

The only downside of exploring a new city on foot is maybe the possibility of you ending up with tired and sore feet. It's really important to find a pair of good shoes for travelling that is comfortable and will support your feet. These usually feature a rubber outsole for better grip, have arch support that provides stability and balance and a good cushioned insole.


When on a holiday I like to keep my style casual and effortless so sneakers are always my shoes of choice. But I stay away from heavy, bulky running shoes that look too athletic because I also want to look cute. Instead, I wear lightweight and casual kicks in a neutral colour that I can pair with denim jeans and even dresses. They are super versatile and really tick all the boxes. In such shoes, I'm able to feel good all day long doing various activities apart from sight-seeing like shopping or paying a visit to the museums.

If you are going on a vacation during the winter mounts, then maybe you want something that will keep your feet warmer. Leather ankle boots with a block heel that is shock-absorbing can be comfortable enough to spend hours walking around town but also stylish enough to take you from the streets to a fancy restaurant in the evening without feeling totally out of place. In terms of patterns and colours, go for something neutral like black or brown that you can mix-and-match easily and wear with various your outfits. If heels are not your thing, but you still want to look feminine, you can find an equally appealing alternative by picking a pair of flat boots with sleek and minimalist styling. Since not every flat booth out there can provide comfort, what you need to look for is a design that keeps the natural shape of the arch, non-slippery sole made of rubber for a better grip and removable, leather-covered inlay sole for odour free feet that can walk in style for many hours. You want to stay away for flimsy and super flexible boots like the traditional Uggs that no matter how comfortable may feel are pretty bad for flat feet.


If you are travelling to a warm climate destination, then you'll need sandals so that your feet can breathe. Simple enough to wear everyday, yet dressier than a basic flip flop, they’re other versatile shoes for travelling. But not every pair will lock the part. When choosing sandals for walking long hours in, make sure you go for ones that feature thicker adjustable elastic straps that go around your feet allowing custom and secure fit for your foot and at the same time adding colour and pattern to your outfit.